Skip to content

Watering the Dogs

June 4, 2012

I hear all kinds of claims about water, both bottled and tap.  After a little research, the conclusion I’ve come to is that filtered tap water is as good as, and often better than, bottled water.  The documentary “Tapped” was pretty convincing on this point, as well. 

I used to be a fan of those sixteen ounce personal sized bottled waters.  I bought tons of them, and ultimately, of course, tossed them into a recycling bin.  Then I heard a woman describing the plight of polar bears, floating on broken ice and drowning due to global warming, and decided throw-away water bottles weren’t such a good idea.  Different reasons work for different people, and the fluffy bear image was indelibly etched in my mind’s eye.

Still not completely convinced water straight from the tap was completely tasty and healthy, I moved on to buying gallon-sized bottled water that I could now pour into my newly purchased Klean Kanteen (which is the best, by the way), and that seemed a modicum of improvement.

Klean Kanteen

Photo courtesy of kleankanteen.com

There are all kinds of sizes, but this is the particular Klean Kanteen I picked.  It’s stainless steel and has a “wide mouth”, so I can easily squeeze lemon into my water.  It’s also insulated, so cold things stay cold, and hot things stay hot.  Spring for the extra five bucks and get both the loop and the cafe lid…you’ll understand why you need both when you start using it! (No, I don’t have stock in this company, nor do I receive compensation for endorsement.  It’s just a good product.)

But now I want the plastic completely removed from the cycle.  My next step is to  install a kitchen sink filter.  It’s amazingly affordable to buy a good charcoal filter that is diverted to its own faucet (comes with the kit), so that all cooking and drinking water is the best, and no more leaching of plastics!Drink of Water

HeartSpring has a good overview of various kinds of water filters available, and then for a more comprehensive site, there’s NSF Consumer Information.

I arrived at a very obvious choice with embarrassingly minute baby steps.  But the dogs and I are going to be drinking clean and healthy water soon, and hopefully helping out a new generation of polar bears!…and, well, everyone else on the planet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2012 6:33 pm

    Installing a kitchen sink filter is a great idea.

Leave a Reply

